Fake it ’til You Make It (or find it at a vintage store?)

This morning I made a discovery: Michaels Arts and Crafts stores are selling new typewriters. New typewriters.

typecast-typewriter-1-1

[Image via Ally Dosdall: check out her blog for her review]

I was shocked at first, but I really shouldn’t be. Companies have been recreating faux-vintage items for awhile now. Just have a gander at Urban Outfitter’s “music + tech” section.

I’m not really sure how I feel about this recreated-retro trend. At first I wanted to say, “No, stop, get your hands off my typewriters!” But then I’d have to give back my un-vintage record player and my recently-made retro radio and the instax camera I bought this decade. And I’m not prepared to do that.

So, what do you guys think? Would you buy a typewriter made in the year 2016? Or do you feel loyal to the original? Is buying something that only looks vintage somehow cheating? Or is the new typewriter so cute it doesn’t matter?

While you’re thinking that over, here’s a round-up of newly-made, vintage-looking items for your consideration:

Crosley Record Players:

5560633901726_067_b

5560633908800_030_b-1

 

[Images via Urban Outfitters]

Crosley makes a wide variety of retro-looking (and more modern-looking) record players. I keep hearing their quality is not the best, and that might be true, but I have owned one for about 5 years now, and it still works great and hasn’t damaged my records. Plus, it looks adorable sitting on the credenza.

Wild & Wolf Telephone:

yellow-octopus-746-phone-swedish-green_1.jpg

[Image via Yellow Octopus]

You can also purchase this phone at Mod Cloth, and while you’re there you can check out this other style. These phones make me want to call up my service provider and ask for a home phone line (or just plug it into the phone jack and talk on my cell phone while looking at it wistfully).

Marshall Speaker:

5560366400200_012_b

[Image via Urban Outfitters]

Oh Marshall, you so cute.

Fuji Instax:

3d2484a5ff20967f1ed3cc324233d151

[Image via Pinterest]

I own the Fuji instax in the larger size (I wanted actual polaroid-sized photos rather than the credit-card-sized photos these little babies spit out). But sadly, the Fuji instax wide only comes in black. Works great, looks blah.

Crosley Songbird Radio:

81UCIZg3NUL._SL1500_.jpg

[Image via Amazon]

I own this little guy too, and even if its antenna did break off and even if it does require 8 batteries of 2 different sizes, it sure does look cute.

screen-shot-2016-10-23-at-10-21-51-am

[Images via my instagram]

The Smeg Fridge:

7ac594dd4cae1fd84e0dd411a7abc6eb

cd3fc264f16ed83aac7d6823d0f3f298.jpg

[Images via Pinterest: 1 and 2]

Smeg also makes adorably retro blenders, toasters, mixers, and other appliances. Whenever I get around to making a wedding registry, I’m sure it will just say “one of every Smeg appliance in turquoise please,” except then no one will get me anything because even the toaster is $240.

And finally, the We R Memory Keepers Typecast Typewriter:

typecast_onlocation_loft-329

[Image via We R Memory Keepers]

It has mixed reviews on the Michaels website, but I think I’m coming around. If all my other typewriters are for display only, this might be one I’d actually use (she says as her “craft box” gathers dust ).

I wonder what Janine Vangool would have to say about this…

2 thoughts on “Fake it ’til You Make It (or find it at a vintage store?)

  1. Hi Hollie,

    Great post! I’d have to say that I’d almost feel too loyal to the vintage typewriters. There’s too much story in them that its more interesting to own an old one. But, the ones made in 2016 are really cute. I have a feeling when I move out officially and get my own place some day, I’m going to be vintage furniture shopping for it. I love vintage things! This post made me want to go vintage anything shopping so thanks for that 🙂

    Autumn

    Like

Leave a Reply

