Halloween Costumes for Vintage Lovers

I love Halloween. I mean, I really love it.

When else is it acceptable to eat nothing but mini chocolate bars and “fun-sized” boxes of Smarties all day?

Plus, I love dressing up. Theme party that everyone thinks is corny? I am there in full costume. With bells on (unless the costume doesn’t call for bells–then no bells on).

I have never not dressed up for Halloween. Even if it was only to be dressed up, alone, listening to “Zombie” by The Cranberries on repeat, waiting to hand out candy to kids who would never show up (my apartment building was not the Halloween hotspot I thought it would be), surrounded by a pool of my own wrappers.

I’m not going to reveal what my costume is just yet (I’m saving that for when I have photos), but I have compiled a round-up of vintage-inspired costumes you can put together with vintage clothes you may have, or could easily find at a thrift store.

  1. Mary Poppins via Keiko Lynn.mary-poppins-and-bert-costume-keiko-lynn-and-bobby-hicks-6-1

I am kicking myself right now for selling a vintage carpet bag and donating a black bowler hat.

2. Dorothy Gale from The Wizard of Oz via The Joy of Fashion:

8110469953_f3ecb9a5bc_o.jpg

A costume that involves a dog in a basket? Well, that’s objectively the best costume ever.

3. Another Dorothy via What I Wore:

6195662395_e8334de4b0_o.jpg

Toto looks a bit different here. I can’t quite put my finger on it…

4. Marie Antoinette also from What I Wore:

6196131895_660d11521e_o.jpg

This one makes a really good last minute costume (hahaha).

5. 1920s Flapper via Sarah Forshaw:

 

3903.jpg

Wear a headband as a forehead-band and you’re halfway there.

6. The Golden Girls via A Beautiful Mess:

6a00d8358081ff69e201bb07a338d4970d.png

This is the vintage that is easy to find because no one else wants it.

7. Remember Rory Gilmore’s 1940s USO outfit?

tumblr_inline_nct6t66edw1sg101c

Source.

8. Annie Hall via The Homesteady:

6a017ee3c48414970d01b8d169e3cd970c-800wi.png

Again, I mourn for you, recently-donated black bowler hat.

Whatever you wear this Halloween, just make sure you don’t buy it at Spirit Halloween.

4 thoughts on “Halloween Costumes for Vintage Lovers

  1. I can’t get over how in love I am with the Mary Poppins. I don’t even dress up for Halloween but now I think I’m wanting to! I’m also digging the flapper outfit…is it faux pa to switch costumes part way thought a party?

    Christine C

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

