Autumn Reading List

 

  1. Vintage Trailer Style– Lisa Mora
    I do not have a vintage trailer to style but I’ve always had a vivid imagination. A reviewer says, “I wouldn’t even call it a good coffee table book, unless you’re into pink flamingo’s and such.” Since I am very much into pink flamingos and also correctly using apostrophes, this might be the book for me.
  2. The Typewriter– Janine Vangool
    I’ve been meaning to buy and read this book for years. The author is the editor of one of my very favourite magazines, Uppercase, and she’s a Calgarian. I haven’t even mentioned yet that this book is a history of typewriters. Do you want to see a picture of Janine surrounded by typewriters? Of course you do. 
  3. Style Me Vintage: Clothes– Naomi Thompson
    A guide to sourcing and creating vintage looks. It promises “tips on how to find unique, one-off items that fit any budget,” which is good because my budget is shoestring at best and velcro at worst.
  4. Dressing the Decades: Twentieth-Century Vintage Style– Emmanuelle Dirix
    I feel I can trust a woman with a name like “Emmanuelle Dirix” to tell me about old clothes. She sounds like the type of person who just drank a bottle of wine under the Eiffel Tower on her lunch break. One reviewer calls it “lovely and scholarly” and another calls it “not markedly scholastic.” The plot thickens.
  5. Buying and Selling: One man’s journal of a year buying and selling vintage for fun & profit– John Silke
    This book might be self-published: I can’t seem to find a publisher name, there are no reviews, it seems to be only sold in Kindle format, and there’s a typo in the blurb. But as they say in the world of vintage buying and selling, one man’s trash is another (wo)man’s treasure!
  6. The Vintage Fashion Bible– Wayne Hemingway
    Normally, I run far away from any books with the word “Bible” on the front, but according to amazon, “it is the only complete chronological look at 20th century fashion for men and women, as well as a practical guide to buying, styling and restoring vintage clothing.” Was it also written by a descendant of Ernest Hemingway? Let’s pretend that’s true. Old Man and The Seafoam Green Pencil Skirt. A Farewell to Army Print. For Whom The Belt Holds. The Silk Also Wrinkles. Okay, I’m done now.
Leave a Reply

